Hunger Games: Catching Fire – A Review

I went to the cinema last week to finally see Catching Fire. I had been anticipating this movie since the first part came out, so I am glad the wait is over. It was rather spontaneous, I found the special one-time screening in English only about two days earlier (and there was no way I would endure the torture of watching this movie in German.)

The movie was just as fascinating as the first part. As a huge fan of the book series, I was both excited and afraid to see all these characters and settings on screen, but they did a good job and I really loved it. The costumes are downright amazing, I want some of the dresses RIGHT NOW! Effie’s look is hilarious as usual and Katniss has some awesome dresses as well.

The relationships between all the characters are portrayed lovely. The old ones as well as the new ones. For example Finnick and Johanna are some of my favourites and in my opinion, Prim has developed much since the last movie. You can tell she grew up and understands her responsibilities. Also, you just gotta love Haymitch!

I can’t say much about the surprising twists and stuff like that, since I know that story almost by heart and I knew what was coming. Still, I was curious and excited about HOW they would represent certain events. Although I imagined the arena differently, I still liked it.

The soundtrack is also lovely, I believe music is a vital part of the success of a movie. In Catching Fire, the music, settings/landscapes, characters and costumes are very well done, you can tell how much detail they put into every scene. I will now wait patiently until the DVD comes out and then until the third part will hit the theatres. Geez. Will be another years or so, right?

Well, go and see Catching Fire now and experience for yourself the weird, twisted and hopeful story of Katniss and Panem. And may the odds be EVER in your favour.

Bild

Categories: Reviews | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Grinding Moon Wiki

Alles rund um die Crew und ihre Abenteuer

The Girl Who Games

living for the next update

Imagine Foundation Ghana

Wenn viele kleine Leute, an vielen kleinen Orten, viele kleine Schritte tun, können wir das Gesicht der Welt verändern.

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

Refuting the Intolerably Stupid

Musings about Young Adult Books & Young Adult Life, Inspired by Jane Austen and Written by Me, Colette Whitney

imakecreativity

Blogging, Drawing, It's all GOOD